Education for Life and Work: Developing Transferable Knowledge and Skills in the 21st Century

The National Academies

Known collectively as the National Academies, the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. The National Research Council, the operating arm of the NAS and NAE, performs its studies and workshops through five major divisions; Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education, Earth and Life Studies, Engineering and Physical Sciences, Pol icy and Global Af fai rs, and the Transportation Research Board.

At any given year, the National Research Council sponsors hundreds of conferences, workshops, symposia, roundtables, standing committees, and other gatherings that attract the finest minds in academia and the public and private sectors. Each year, more than 6,000 of these experts volunteer to serve on hundreds of study committees that are convened to answer specific sets of questions. These venues for discussion and debate are essential for allowing the scientific process to unfold. In addition, the Academies publish dozens of proceedings and summaries on these activities and offers a variety of opportunities from grade school to grad school and beyond that are designed to ensure lifelong learning, promote research across disciplines, and engage the public in a deeper understanding of science.

A recent publication, “Education for Life and Work: Developing Transferable Knowledge and Skills in the 21st Century,” describes an important set of skills that develops college and career readiness, student-centered learning, and higher order thinking. These labels include both cognitive and non-cognitive skills, including critical thinking, problem solving, col laborat ion, ef fect ive communicat ion, mot ivat ion, persistence, and learning to learn. Creativity, innovation, and ethics are also qualities crucial to success and may be developed in formal or informal learning environments. Here we summarize the key conclusions of this study.

Domains of Competence

The report identifies three broad domains of competence: cognitive, intrapersonal, and interpersonal.

  1. Cognitive domain. This involves reasoning and memory. This contains three clusters of competencies: cognitive processes and strategies; knowledge; and creativity. Critical thinking, information literacy, reasoning and argumentation, and innovation are part of this domain.
  2. Intrapersonal Domain. This involves the capacity to manage one’s behavior and emotions to achieve one’s goals (including learning goals). This domain includes three clusters of competencies: intellectual openness; work ethic and conscientiousness; and positive core self-evaluation. These clusters include competencies such as flexibility, initiative, appreciation for diversity, and metacognition (the ability to reflect on one’s own learning and make adjustments accordingly).
  3. Interpersonal Domain. This involves expressing ideas, and interpreting and responding to messages from others. It includes two clusters of competencies: teamwork and collaboration; and leadership.These clusters include competencies such as communication, collaboration, responsibility, and conflict resolution.

Cognitive competencies have been more extensively studied than interpersonal and intrapersonal competencies. These competencies have consistently positive correlations of modest size with desirable educational, career, and health outcomes. Early academic competencies are also positively correlated with these outcomes.

Among interpersonal and intrapersonal competencies, conscientiousness is most highly correlated with desirable educational, career, and health outcomes. Conscientiousness is defined as a tendency to be organized, responsible, and hardworking. Anti - social behavior, which has both intrapersonal and interpersonal dimensions, is negatively correlated with these outcomes.

Although the absence of common definitions and quality measures poses a challenge to research, emerging evidence indicates that cognitive, intrapersonal, and interpersonal competencies can be taught and learned in ways that promote transfer.

“Deeper Learning” and Transfer

“Deeper learning” is the process through which an individual becomes capable of taking what was learned in one situation and applying it to new situations.This capacity to apply learning is called transfer. Deeper learning often involves shared learning and interactions with others in a community. Through this process, the individual develops expertise in a particular domain of knowledge. The product of deeper learning is transferable knowledge, including content knowledge in a domain and knowledge of how, why, and when to apply this knowledge to answer questions and solve problems. We refer to this blend of both knowledge and skills as“21st century competencies.”The competencies are structured around fundamental principles of the content area and their relationships. While other types of learning may allow an individual to recall facts, concepts, or pocedures, deeper learning allows the individual to transfer what was learned to solve new problems.

Methods for Deeper Learning

Designers and developers of instruction have targeted deeper learning and development of transferable 21st century competencies—and meaningful assessment to measure student progress in these areas—as a primary goal. Such instruction should begin with the earliest grades and be sustained throughout students’K-12 careers. The following methods can be used:

  1. Encourage elaboration, questioning, and explanation from students. For example, they can prompt students who are reading a history text to think about the author’s intent and explain specific information and arguments as they read.
  2. Engage learners in challenging tasks, while also supporting them with guidance, feedback, and encouragement to reflect on their own learning processes and the status of their understanding.
  3. Draw f rom examples and cases, such as modeling step-by-step how students can carry out a procedure to solve a problem and using sets of worked examples.
  4. Foster student motivation by connecting topics to students’personal lives and interests, engaging students in collaborative problem solving, and drawing attention to the knowledge and skills that students are developing, rather than focusing on grades or scores.

Assessment

Instruction can use assessment to:

  1. make learning goals clear to students;
  2. regularly monitor, provide feedback, and respond to students’ learning progress; and
  3. involve s tudent s in self - and peer - a s sessment .
    Designers and developers of curriculum, instruction and assessment in problem-solving and metacognition should use modeling and feedback techniques that highlight the processes of thinking rather than focusing exclusively on the products of thinking . Problem- solving and metacognitive competencies should be taught and assessed within a specific discipline or topic area, rather than as a stand-alone course.

Conclusion

We must devotet ime and resources to develop a sophisticated system that fosters the process of deeper learning. This process is essential to the development of transferable 21st century competencies. Foundations, state and federal agencies should support research to define and develop assessments of 21st century competencies. In particular, they should develop valid, reliable, and fair assessments of intrapersonal and interpersonal competencies.

面對未來生活的教育-高等教育中能力與智慧轉向問題

美國國家科學院

由美國國家工程院、美國國家醫學研究所和美國國家研究理事會組成的「美國國家科學院」,是當國家與世界面對當前急迫挑戰時提供專家意見的私人非營利機構。美國國家研究理事會作為美國國家醫學研究與美國國家科學院的實際行政單位,關心的焦點研究和討論主要集中在以下五大面向:行為、社會科學和教育、地球生命研究、工程與物理科學研究、政策與國際事務以及交通運輸研究。

國家研究理事會贊助無數會議、研討會、專題討論、圓桌會議、常設委員會以及其他大大小小會議吸引來自學術界、政府和民間優秀人才共同與會。每年超過6,000位的專家志願投入無數的研究委員會回答特定的問題。這些提供討論與辯論、解決問題的科學過程是必要的。除此之外,由這些學術機構針對上述活動出版眾多論文集和摘要提供各級學生多樣的終身學習,在推動跨領域研究的同時讓公眾參與並對科學有更深入的了解。

一項近期出版的研究「面對未來生活的教育: 在21世紀發展可移轉的知識與技能 」文章中描述一系列發展大學與職前訓練、以學生為中心的學習與高階思維的重要技能。這些技能包含認知與非認知技巧,包括批判思維、解決問題、團隊合作、有效的溝通、學習動機、持續性以及在學習中學習。創意、創新和倫理同時也是成功的重要要素,可在正式與非正式的學習環境中發展出來。以下是本研究的主要研究重點:

競爭力的場域

該報告提出三個主要競爭力領域:

  1. 認知領域:牽涉推理與記憶。包含競爭力的三大區塊: 認知過程和策略、知識與創造力。批判性思維、訊息的認識、推理和論證以及創新都是屬於這個場域的一部份。
  2. 內省領域:牽涉個人行為和情感的管理以求達到目標(包含學習目標)的能力。該領域包含三類競爭力:智識的開放性、工作熱情及自覺、與正向自我核心評價。這群競爭能力亦包括靈活性、主動性、對多樣性的讚賞和鉅觀認知(對自我學習的反思並作出相對調整的能力)。
  3. 人際關係領域:牽涉觀念的表達以及對他人訊息的詮釋和回應。該領域包含二類競爭力:團體合作以及領導能力。其中包含溝通、合作、責任與化解衝突的競爭力。

比起內省領域和人際關係領域,認知競爭力有更廣泛的研究。這些競爭力與理想教育、職業和健康結果之間具有正向關係。早期的學術競爭能力與這些結果也呈正向關係。

在人際關係及個人競爭力當中,勤勉正值性與理想教育、工作和健康狀態之間具有高度相關。勤勉正值性被定義為具有組織能力、負責任的與努力工作的傾向。反社會行為同時存在於個人與人群面向內,同時與上述三種傾向之間具有負相關的關係。

雖然尚無統一的定義和質性測量對此研究提出挑戰,新的證據顯示認知能力、內省能力和人際交往能力可以經由教導與學習轉向的方式習得。

「深度學習」與轉換

「深度學習」是指一個人有能力將所學轉換並應用到新脈絡的過程。這樣運用所學的能力被稱為「轉向」。深度學習經常與他人的共同學習與團體互動有關。經由這樣的過程,個體可讓對特定知識領域發展成專業知識。深度學習的產出是知識轉換,包含內容和知識以及知道如何、為什麼及何時運用專業知識回答與解決問題。我們將這樣同時把知識與技能稱為「二十一世紀的競爭力」。競爭力建構在與基本原則相關的領域和彼此之間的關係。雖然其他的學習方式或許能讓個體回想事實、概念或者是學習過程,但深度學習提供個體將所學的知識轉換用以解決新問題的能力。

「深度學習」的方法

深度學習方法的設計者和發展者將可轉化的二十一世紀競爭力鎖定為深度學習和發展、評估學生在這些領域進步的有意義指標為主要目標。這些學習方法應該自低年級的開始並持續到K-12的職業生活。

方法如下:

  1. 鼓勵學生闡述、質疑與解釋。例如:當學生閱讀一段歷史資料的同時促使學生思考作者的用意並解釋特定的資訊和爭論點。
  2. 邀請學習者參與具有挑戰性的任務,支持他們同時給與指導、回饋並鼓勵反思自身的學習過程和理解狀況。
  3. 利用成功的例子和個案,像是如同建立範本般地指導學生步驟式地解決問題。
  4. 連結學生個人生活與興趣來培養學生的學習動機,將學生納入集體解決問題、讓學生專注在正在發展中的知識與技能勝過於分數和成績。

評量

我們可以使用評量來:

  1. 讓學生對學習目標更加清楚
  2. 定期監測、提供回饋與回應學生的學習過程
  3. 讓學生一同參與自己和同儕的評量
    課程的設計者和發展者解決問題的指導和評量與鉅觀認知上,應該採用強調思考流程的學習模式和回饋機制,而不是著重在思考後的結果。學習者應該在特定領域中習得解決問題和鉅觀認知競爭力,而不是在單一個課程中。

結論

我們必須投資時間與資源發展一套細緻的系統以發展深度學習的方法。對於可轉換的二十一世紀競爭力而言,這是一個必要的過程。基金會、國家和聯邦單位應該支持研究去定義與發展二十一世紀競爭力的評量,特別是針對人際與個人競爭力之間制定有效、可靠而且公平的評量。